Print Thread
Hop To
L
Lawdwaz Online Content OP
Campfire Outfitter
OP Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
L
Just kidding! Probably lots of young guys don't even know about them. When were they used, 60's to 70's? I swear some TV personalities use them still. I see some horrible shots on camera and all animals are recovered, no problem.

Anybody have any experience with them from years ago?

GB1

H
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
H
i remember when you could buy them back in the early 70's. seems to me they are illegal in almost every state now (although mississippi might still allow them). i use either a recurve or longbow, with cedar shafts. pods and trad bows don't belong in the same woods imo.

Campfire Outfitter
Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
I've been doing this for 20+ years and the POD is a new one on me. Is it one of the string tracker things?

A true sportsman counts his achievements in proportion to the effort involved and fairness of the sport. - S. Pope
L
Campfire Outfitter
OP Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
L
Some sort of surgical tubing (?) that would be slid over the end of the shaft, behind the broadhead and poison somehow rolled up in it. At impact, the tubing would roll back and the poison would hit the blood stream and death was fairly quick?

I remember reading about it in early Bowhunter magazines.

String trackers! Good memories of those from the 80's! Looked like a mess of kite string all over the woods a couple times, lol.

L
Campfire Outfitter
OP Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
L
Looks like it had a patent....

http://www.freepatentsonline.com/4463953.html

IC B2

W
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
W
POD= tranqilliser broad head. I watch the shows mostly for the gear, never saw them used, FWIW.
W

D
Campfire Outfitter
Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
D