Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 9 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
R
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
R
Due to an increase in home invasions in east central Alabama, I'm looking at getting a home defense pistol. I have a wife and two kids (10,4). I intend to keep it in a quick access safe, by the bed. I'm considering a Glock 9mm with a crimson trace sight. If my wife had to access it, I don't want her trying to access a safety or not be able to shoot it because the safety is on. I also don't want something that will jamm frequently. Consequently, I am considering a Glock 9mm. I am no handgun expert, so how about some feedback from the more experienced handgun shooters. Thanks. rbh

GB1

L
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
L
Just kinda hard to beat a Glock.
Laser grips are to the taste of the owner.

Some spelling errors can be corrected by a vowel movement.
~ MOLON LABE ~
T
Campfire Sage
Campfire Sage
T
I cannot bring myself to recommend a Glock. Yes, they're reliable, but the Glock was made as a compromise weapon from scratch. It has a lousy trigger that's hard to master. Why not just go with an old reliable double action revolver like a S&W Model 10?
[Linked Image]

With modern designed +p loads out of a four inch barrel, it's hard to beat for home defense. Simplicity itself. And it's a classic, so it will inspire pride in ownership and make you want to go out and shoot it a lot. Get real good with it. Make you deadly.

Or, along similar lines, a nice Colt Police Positive.
[Linked Image]

Attached Images
S&W Mod 10.JPG (95.37 KB, 1374 downloads)
Police Positive.JPG (35.58 KB, 1301 downloads)
JOG Offline
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Laser sights have their fans and detractors, I'm in the latter group. Even most of the fans would say a set of tritium sights and the proper use of a flashlight are more important, with the laser added as insurance.

In my opinion, the 9mm Glock 19 is the all-round best Glock for self defense.