Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
T
turtle Offline OP
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
T
I never had a dedicated varmit-rig,but I am going to get one and I need help,it will probably be in .223 and weight will not be a factor

GB1

J
Campfire Greenhorn
Campfire Greenhorn
J
I've been hunting eastern woodchuck for 30+ years with a Remington 788 in either .222 or .223. I free float the bbl and glass bed the front of the action and first 2 - 3 inches of bbl. and the rear tang area only. People laugh when I call it a "varmint rig" but it's the only rifle I ever saw for $500(today's dollars)that will consistently shoot under a 1/2MOA with no work on it other than as mentioned above. p.s. it is a medium weight gun so you won't have to schlep around a 12 lb. boat anchor. Go to Gunbroker etc and get you one. JMHO J.N.

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
If this is a rifle for sitting in one place and shooting ground squirells or prairie dogs, then get a Savage, CZ or Tikka with a heavy barrel in .223. Put the extra money you've saved into a good scope - I like a variable that I can crank up to about 20 power for small vermin at long ranges.

If you want a light rifle for walking around and won't be shooting more than a few rounds right after each other quickly like you might with prairie dogs, then I'd go with a CZ or Tikka with a standard barrel.

You can certainly spend more, but I don't think you are as certain to get a good one as you are with those 3 brands, IMHO. You should not have to do anything to get them to shoot well under MOA, unless you get a cheaper version of the Savage with the flimsy tupperware stock.

�That rifle on the wall of the labourer's cottage or working class flat is the symbol of democracy. It is our job to see that it stays there.� George Orwell
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular