Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Canon Offline OP
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
Hi Guys / Has anyone fire lapped a rifle similar in size to the 375 Weatherby or Ackley?<P> Neco suggested utilizing jacketed bullets for this size of cartridge to prevent<BR>eroding the throat. Recommended pressure of around 30,000 psi.@ about 2000 fps.to obturate the bullet fully to the bore.<P>According to the Quickload program, 45 grains<BR>of IMR-4198 will achieve the required velocity and pressure.<P>My concern is, is there a chance of detonation utilizing this powder with reduced loads ? My opinion is no, but I have no experience with this powder.<P>Any load recommendations welcomed. Thanks

GB1

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Cant help with the question,but glad to see your name here.

Never holler whoa or look back in a tight place
Canon Offline OP
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
Gene / It's been a busy summer for me, but I did check in awhile back to read a few posts.<P>Was most impressed with your load development with the 7 Ultra. Velocity, accuracy, your launch pad, etc. [img]images/icons/wink.gif" border="0[/img]<P>Awaiting a reply from Beartooth Bullets. They should be able to answer the firelapping question.

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
I took a quick peek at Yahoo! for "fire lapping" and found 11,800 sites. Looks like there's plenty of info available.<P>Good luck.<P>2D<P>However, I just went back and checked further.After you get through the first couple pages they turn to totally different subjects. I.E., "the FIRE was LAPPING at my knees".<P>Oh, well.

[Linked Image]