-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
B
OP Offline
B
Hey Rusty-Gunn,<P> I was gone for a couple of weeks, Thanks for the reply regarding lasercast bullets. Since then, Ive found Hawk Bullets web site. Was there any discussion on these bullets in leverguns? (how 'bout nosler's partition) The hollow points should negate primer popping in the magazine right? I read the quote from G. Sittons article on their page. Looks like a devastating bullet!!! They may be a bit soft for the big bears, but then I just live around these tiny cuddly black bears ;-). Anyways, Thanks again!!!<P>B/C

GB1

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
B/C... I have zero experience with Hawk bullets, but have heard excellent results with them, from people with actual experience. <BR>As to hollow points, its not the meplat (or hollow meplat) that causes the potential problems, but the edge of the meplat. The problem comes from the cartridge that sits in the load gate area, with the front half of it sitting in the recess area of the magazine tube, that causes it to sit at an angle, with it's meplat edge in contact with the primer in front of it. A hollow point has an edge, so it may cause such a problem, in theory. Bullets with a very large meplat, .360 or larger Sundles/Garrett suggests, will move the meplat away from primer contact, or away enough to reduce the chance of a problem. The LaserCast bulets have about a .300 meplat, a very narrow one. Thats why I may go to a different bullet or file down the meplat to flatten it some. In my own experiences, I have NOT had a problem with LaserCasts as long as the load was lower then 1800 feet per second. I don't claim to know that 1800 is the majic number, but it has worked for me. I still would use a larger meplat in my leverguns. I hope this helps. ~~~Suluuq

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular