Print Thread
Hop To
K
Kcoyboy Offline OP
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
K
I want to create a contender or encore 223 pistol with a short barrel manly for plinking out to 100 yds. I want adj iron sights for it also as I wont be mounting a scope. Which barrel maker would you people advise would be the best? Also are the short forends easy to come by as I want a barrel about 8 inches or a little less. I presume the contender frame would be lighter which I would want. What would be the optimum twist rate be for it40 grain up to 62 grain? One in 9? Also for an encore rifle( I presume a contender couldnt take the pressure) Who would make a barrel in 223 wssm? Any help would be appreciated as Im new to single shots Thanks

GB1

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
I don't know of anybody who will do an Encore or Contender barrel in any of the short mags. Match Grade Machine will only do them on bolt actions. They do a whole slew of chamberings for the Encore & Contender. If you are a handloader you might want to look @ the .22 BR. That is doable on the Encore frame.

Match Grade Machine Chamberings

There comes a time when one must take a position that is neither safe, nor polite, nor popular -- but one must ask, "Is it right?"

Martin Luther King, Jr.
K
Kcoyboy Offline OP
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
K
called match grade machine and they will do short barrels down to 6 in. Who makes the best forearms and custom grips?

F
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
F
Match grade will treat you good, i have had them make me quite a few tubes. always great service.

i personally prefer Georgia Jim for grip, have several sets of his...lots of grip & forend options.

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

============================================================

F
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
F