Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
AndyG Offline OP
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
I'm sure this has been brought up before, but didn't find anything under the search bar. I've been thinking about switching to a whisker bisuit and I shoot feathers. I know that the will ripple vanes after enough shots. But does anyone use this rest with feathers? Do they tear the feathers also? I think the vanes ripple because they have no where to bend out of the way, but I would think the feathers would push down or fold back under the bristles. Anyone know anything about this.

Also, I'm in the market for a new bow. Anyone know anything about the quality of Athens Archery or New Breed?

Thanks guys.

Never be upset by getting old, many never get the privilege.

Knock knock. Who's there? 9/11. 9/11 who? You said you'd never forget.
GB1

F
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
F
feathers and whisker biscuit is a great combo - I've been using it for about 4-5 years. I shoot thousands of arrows a year and refletch once or twice a year. It will eventually tatter the edges a bit, not to the point where it affects arrow flight but they get a little noisier. My wife shoots vanes through the whisker biscuit and those hold up fine too.

D
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
D
I shoot feathers through a Biscuit.

Just make sure the leading edge of the fletching/feather is well glued down to the shaft. I've got a few hundred shots of feathers through mine with few ill effects.

D
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
D
I shoot both feathers, 4" vanes, and blazers through a biscuit without a problem. My 4" vanes are becoming rippled after about a year of shooting 50-75 arrows per week. The feathers are on my hunting shafts and get shot very little, but still show no wear. Pass-through on a deer is a killer to the feathers in comparison.

An Old Pilot, but Not A Bold Pilot
"Pig-murderin' Fool"
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular