Print Thread
Hop To
A
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
A
Hey everyone,

I am pretty new to the AR world, but have a question on upper receivers. I have seen a number of ads for upper receivers saying "complete" or "replacement" upper, but then it usually states that the bolt, bolt carrier, and charging handle are extra.

Without a bolt included on these how are they headspaced?

GB1

R
Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
R
They use a "generic" bolt to set the headspace... there are tolerances and specs on the bolts... Such that using any bolt that meets spec " SHOULD" work safely... Doesn't always work like that but most of the time it does assuming you are not buying junk from a junk dealer so to speak.

We can keep Larry Root and all his idiotic blabber and user names on here, but we can't get Ralph back..... Whiskey Tango Foxtrot, over....
O
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
O
ros..,

I have a friend who was a green beret. His specialty was small arms. When I posed the question of headspace to him, he said the bolt 'set' to the upper after several rounds and wasn't supposed to be switched to another upper after firing. Seems odd to me. Ever heard of that?

O

Too old to suffer fools
R
Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
R
I have carriers that have bolts that have been checked in various uppers of mine... I swapped them back and forth all the time.

We can keep Larry Root and all his idiotic blabber and user names on here, but we can't get Ralph back..... Whiskey Tango Foxtrot, over....
F
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
F
I think your green beret friend is remembering incorrectly or he was the victim of an old wives' tale.

With today's CNC manufacturing, part swapping is very common and unless there is a defect in the parts to begin with, the wear on the parts will be the same regardless.