Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
AJD Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
I'm new to the 375win and I am looking for advice/bullets/loads to use on whitetails. What works best for you?

Thanks for your help.

There is no accounting for taste.

Experience is a great thing as long as one survives it.

Generally, there ain't a lot that separates the two however,
Barely making it is a whole lot more satisfying than barely not making it.
GB1

S
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
S
The 220 grain Hornady FP has worked well for me. Sierra makes a 200 gr and Barnes makes one, not sure what weight. I have always used RL 7 powder. Lots of info over at www.marlinowners.com .

The critters have to win every time, I only have to win once. www.swanspointoutfitters.com
www.lazybar-t.com outfitters
65-43-22-5
T
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
T
I also use the 220 grain Hornady FP over a charge of RL7. This combination shoots quite well in my Marlin 375. AA1680 is another excellent powder for the 375 Winchester.

μολὼν λαβέ
M
Mak Offline
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
M
If you are looking for factory loads, I am aware of only one, and that is the Winchester 200 gr. Super X. This load is more than adequate for any deer sized game.
If you need anything more, its a handloading only situation.
Suitable deer bullets include those mentioned above, and also offerings from Hawk bullets.
The 375 is pretty flexible in that a number of powders work well, but as always, it will probably take some experimenting to come up with the load your carbine likes best. One powder that delivers excellent accuracy and velocity is the old familiar 3031.
Current loading information can be gleaned from a number of sources, just beware of one thing, in the Hogdon Annual manual, do not exceed loads are extremely hot, and the Sierra actually generates above max pressure for either the 336 or the 94.

M
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
M