Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
A
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
A
I was wondering if anyone has ever experienced "sweet spots" in accuracy across the range of poundage their bow is rated for? For instance, I'm wondering if it is possible for a given bow to shoot very well at say 60lbs, not so well at 63lbs, then very well again at 65lbs. I had always heard that a bow shoots its best when set at the highest poundage it is rated for, but does that mean it shoots steadily worse as the poundage drops or are there sometimes sweet spots?

I was shooting great with field points and then a couple months before the season I upped my poundage a bit and felt like I lost some accuracy. When I started shooting nothing but my broadheads closer to the season opener my groups opened up quite a bit. I was just wondering if it would be worth it to crank the poundage up a quarter or half turn to try and get a little closer to a "sweet spot" or if it isn't worth it. Things are okay the way they are if I don't change anything, but it got me thinking about it and I figured someone around here probably has a good idea about it.

TIA

"But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you." --Matthew 6:33 KJV

"Only accurate rifles are interesting." --Col Townsend Whelen
GB1

M
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
M
I don't believe that shooting a bow at its max makes it more accurite. My target bow a Hoyt Contender Elite is set at about half way up and it shoots lights out when I do my job. As long as the timing is correct, the arrow is spined correct, and your setup is correct the accuracy should be the same across the board. Now the weight could effect you the shooter, to little may make you unstable, to much will wear you out both effecting your accuracy.

Eat Fish, Wear Grundens, Drink Alaskan.
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
you are fretting miniscule issues ....shoot and practice more best way to increase accuracy