Print Thread
Hop To
Page 4 of 4 1 2 3 4
Z
Campfire Greenhorn
Campfire Greenhorn
Z
Wildcatter,

Excellent choice. I have been using a Krieghoff in the field for two years now and nothing beats the speed of the cocking action which can be a life saver for a PH.

GB1

Campfire Member
Campfire Member
Why is it that just about the time one can afford a good double rifle his eyes start going south. Then he is left with the unappealing option of mounting a scope on an otherwise fine piece of art or shoot half blind.
This remains an enigma for me. Everyone should have the priviledge of owning and shooting a fine double barrel rifle. I can't think of a more pleasureful way to hunt africa in the bush.

Warm trails and blue skies!
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
I can relate Blueman. I am 58, and this whole aging process is really screwing up my handgun shooting as well. With regard to my double rifle, I decided to go Teutonic. I have a little Franz Sodia sxs in .375 H&H. It is very nearly MOA accurate with 270gr TSX's. I had JJ Perodeau of Champlin put claw mounts on it with one of the little VX III Leupold variables. For buff it is perfect for a well aimed first shot through the scope (and a very quick second shot), and I can dismount it in an instant for following one up. I can also very easily take a 200m shot at a kudu on the next ridge with the same rifle. I don't know that I could have done it to an English double, but claws don't seem entirely out of place on an Austrian Rifle. Weidman's Heil!

"We sleep peaceably in our beds because rough men stand ready in the
night to visit violence on those who would do us harm" Winston Churchill
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
Sodia makes some awesome good stuff. Back in the 70s I had a friend who had a 338 built just that way complete with claw mounts (must be the ONLY 338 double in existence, talk about silly calibers for a double!). It was a beautiful rifle.