-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 4 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Personally, I prefer an 80/20 grind, as it makes for juicy burgers.

I will occasionally grind a slab of rind-off bacon in lieu of the 20% beef tallow I normally use. The mixed grind of bacon/venison makes for a totally different and very tasty burgers.

Respects,

Richard

Cat, the other white meat!
GB1

K
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
K
I have been processing moosemeat locally now for 39 years. Have done as many as 160 per year. deer and bear --never kept count. Starting on the third generation processing for some families. Been trying to cut back as I get older--hard to say no to some people.

Smartest move I ever made was several years ago I required the customers to help--even if they are only there to watch. No more explaining prices after that move.

When I get old and feeble I may take up sausage making--mean time I know a guy in Thunder Bay thats really very good--he charges accordingly.

Don't get me started on some of the crap I've sent down the road.
Meat that ain't handled properly makes me grouchy and I will explain what you did wrong--sometimes not so nicely.

N
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
N
Originally Posted by SuperCub
Breaking down the hinds is a much easier task if done with the hind hanging.

No hooks in my wife's kitchen!

Our new house has one of the biggest attached garages in town however so I'll be good.

N
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
N
Originally Posted by Tundragriz

Someone once asked how I trim the sinew off the straps so I shot this vid:

Really good and clear video. Thanks for sharing! Loved your other stuff too. The close shots of two moose looked thrilling.

Last edited by North61; 12/25/10.
S
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
S