Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
antlers Offline OP
Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger
Watching a great show on The Military Channel about this war, and the question I have is...should we have used nuclear bombs against China? Also, the show states that Truman decided that using nukes would have caused a spread of the war, and made things worse...do you agree with that?

Every day on this side of the ground is a win.

M
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
M
My opinion is that Truman should have listened to his "prima donna", old Dugout Doug. Now China is the "sleeping giant" we need to fear. I'm not an expert, just voicing my personal opinion.

21 Offline
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
The sleeping giant has been awake for some time now.

"Never force anything, just get a bigger hammer".
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
"No" to your first question; "maybe" to your second. If you really have an interest in the war, from tactical level small-unit action to the world situation that drove some of the decisions, read T.R. Fehrenbach's "This Kind of War (A Study in Unpreparedness)". Very well written. Chapter 25, titled "Proud Legions" is probably some of the best writing on the role of the military in a free society that I have ever read.

S
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
S
I'm a big fan of Teddy Roosevelt. Speak softly and carry a big stick works for me . We should have impressed on Mau that he could leave or face the consequences. I believe he would have reacted just like Kruschev did in the Cuban Missile Crisis. If not,the rest of the world would have been aware that the Chinese made a choice and suffered the consequences.
It continually seems that our leaders are too timid to use the power we have because they're always worrying about "world opinion" ,whatever that is. Not using the full force of our power has gotten a lot of American blood spilled....and "world opinion" doesn't seem to include much respect for our efforts.

IC B2