Print Thread
Hop To
P
paul375 Offline OP
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
P
Just wondering if any one uses Spey rods much in other parts of the world.
I have a 15' Bruce&Walker Hexograph which I use for Salmon in the UK and I also take it to India for Carnatic Carp and any thing else that will take a fly whilst there. I haven't had a Mahseer on it....yet.
I use a Lamson LS4 with it and use tube flys with a trebble hook.

GB1

R
Campfire Ranger
Online Sleepy
Campfire Ranger
R
I have been using spey rods for almost 20 years. I used it in the surf and on jetties for stripers and blues. Also for salmon and steelhead. It is nice to cast as opposed to casting a reg fly rod 8 wt and heavier all day. I think it would be great fun to catch a carp on spey.

I picked up a switch rod 3 years ago. A 12 ft 7 wt and really like it.

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Pretty common here in Alaska.

My Next Husband Will Be Normal- T. Shirt
P
paul375 Offline OP
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
P
They are a lovley thing to use. I picked mine up second hand about 10 years ago as a bit of a novelty , but just really enjoyed using it.
The Carnatic Carp arn't very big, but they put up one hell of a fight.
The Croc's can be a bit of worry though!
I think that it would break if I got a half decent Mahseer on it.
[img:center]http://[Linked Image][/img]

Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
Originally Posted by ribka
I have been using spey rods for almost 20 years. I used it in the surf and on jetties for stripers and blues. Also for salmon and steelhead. It is nice to cast as opposed to casting a reg fly rod 8 wt and heavier all day. I think it would be great fun to catch a carp on spey.

I picked up a switch rod 3 years ago. A 12 ft 7 wt and really like it.

Always thought a switch was defined as being under 11'...

Mark Begich, Joaquin Jackson, and Heller resistance... Three huge reasons to worry about the NRA.
IC B2

Campfire Ranger
Online Content
Campfire Ranger