Hop To
#5443946 07/21/11
J
Jester Offline OP
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
J

Some of the avid backpackers on here have recommended a particular stake but I can't remember which one. REI or MSR I think. They would be used on an SL 5. Thanks

GB1

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
I like the MSR Groundhog stakes for mine. To guy out all the guyout points including the points a 1/3 the way up the tent its something like 12-15 or so stakes (with MSR GH stakes that 1/2 to 3/4 of a pound in stakes) which makes that tipi pretty well anchored to the terra firma which isn't a bad thing when the wind kicks up.

Lots of good stakes out there just the ones I have been using for the past 3 years or so and happen to like.

J
Jester Offline OP
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
J

Thanks. That sounds like what I had read. I'll give them a try.

E
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
E
I also like the MSR Ground Hogs but recently have replaced most of them with these:
http://www.target.com/Kelty-Tent-J-Stakes/dp/B001M0NVHG

North Face has the same stake but they aren't anodised which makes them harder to find if dropped in the grass. These are a little lighter than the MSR's but hold very well.

I also carry a couple of the Vargo Ti-Nail pegs as well:

http://www.rei.com/product/709914/vargo-outdoor-titanium-nail-pegs-6-pack

The Easton round pegs hold well but the heads are bonded poorly and are prone to popping off when pulling or worse yet if the wind flaps the tent. These would probably be my favorite if not for the head issue.

Ed T

T
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
T
I just made some using old carbon arrow shafts.I cut them about 9" long than epoxyed the heads plus about 1" from alum. gutter nails than alum. inserts with 75 gr. field points in the other end.I've only tried them around the house so far but they look like they will hold up ok
Tim

IC B2

E
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
E