Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
feriil Offline OP
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
I've decided I want to become a beginner bowhunter; I hunt deer with firearms and want to extend my season, plus one of my favorite things to do is stalk a deer.

Other than seeing bows shot on TV and photos of them I have no experience with bows. I have decided I want to get a compound bow and was wondering if people here could give me some advice as to quality used gear I can look for within my price range and specs. (from other internet research and measurements) I know I need a:

29-31" Draw Length
55-65lbs Draw Weight for hunting, I'm a 6'3" strong 250lb male, so I'm thinking starting out near hunting weight for learning may not be a problem, someone can correct me on this if I'm wrong. Bow will be used for whitetail deer and target practice only.
68-72" Bow Length
33" Arrow Length

There are so many used bows with so little information out there on them its hard to know what is and is not a good deal and what I'll be able to use as my primary bow for several years after purchase. Anyone know of good models several years old I can look for that meet those specs? I'm looking to spend $300-400 for a complete package.

Even if you can direct me to other forum posts to help me it would be great.

Thanks!

GB1

E
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
E
You need to find a local bow shop and go visit them. Ask them to tell you your draw length and pull some different bows. Rather than try buying one when you don't have any experience its well worth you time.

If there is any proof of a man in a hunt it is not whether he killed a deer or elk but how he hunted it.
T
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
T