Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Waders Offline OP
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
I have a 1911 w/ a 4" bbl. I am new to pistol shooting and have been working on my grip and my trigger squeeze. I would like to hear people's thoughts on the best way to grip a 1911 and what is the best trigger technique.

Perhaps to prime the discussion, I'll refer everyone to a 10 year old thread from another forum: http://www.perfectunion.com/vb/general-chit-chat/59427-went-shooting-today.html Half way down, a guy cut-and-pastes an old thread where people gave a guy advice on these topics. I enjoyed reading it, but wasn't sure that all the advice was consistent (gee, imagine that happening on the internet!!)

I, personally, was getting target hits at the 7 o'clock position. I found this chart which indicated that I was likely mashing the trigger:
[Linked Image]

Since then, I have been experimenting with hand positioning and grip pressure. I may be gripping the gun too tight, but some folks think that won't lead to poor accuracy as long as I am not increasing pressure at the point of firing, or just as I begin firing. Does anybody think the trigger break should truly be a "surprise?" How important is the positioning of your thumbs--is it a problem if a right handed shooter crosses his left thumb over his right, rather than stacking them parallel?

What else do you all think is important?

Wade

"Let's Roll!" - Todd Beamer 9/11/01.
GB1

E
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
E
the chart you have is more for 1 handed hold in nra bullseye type shooting although some of translate to IPSC type. There will probably be many posts with advice, but you could start going to Brianenos.com and reading their grip, shooting posts from some of the best rather than trying to repeat it here.

Most people don't have what it takes to get old
Campfire Outfitter
Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
Originally Posted by Waders