-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
I recently purchased a .45 cal. flintlock muzzleloading rifle built in Spain and imported by Kassnar. I bought the gun for hunting in PA, where blackpowder hunting is flintlock only. The rifle is a "Kentucky " style with a 30" Bbl. There is nothing on the gun to ID the maker except what I previously posted above. Does anyone out there know anything about this rifle? I've been around firearms my whole life and I am a certified instructor for my local PD which is also my employer. I've fired muzzleloaders before, but that was some 20 years ago out at Philmont Boy Scout Ranch in New Mexico. What kind of powder should I use and how many grains. I bought balls and Sabot projectiles as well. What is the basic loading technique for such a weapon. I know that the powder gets put in first, followed by a patch with a ball fitted in the center. The patch needs to be lubed, what do I use? As you can see, I am a newbie and in need of some guidance. Any advice will be appreciated. Thank you!

Stupidity is contagious!!
GB1

W
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
W
Sgt George,
Only because not much help is being offered here, will recommend the following:
Visit www.muzzleloadingforum.com and review the many suggestions offered. If desiring additional information, feel free to post your questions in the appropiate section.
As with the people here, you will find them to be great bunch of folks, eager to help.
Best Wishes

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Sgt. George:

Your rifle most probably was manufactured by Aceros De Hispania, in Spain. In this link there is a picture of their Kentucky Rifle. You can go to their home page and obtain an address to write for more details.

http://www.aceros-de-hispania.com/gb/infer.asp?ac=10&trabajo=listar&pa=armas