-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
C
OP Offline
C
Hi I am a newbie here, I appreciate any help you can give me. I recently purchased some hounds for hunting bobcats. I will be hunting in remote wilderness areas in Nova Scotia, Canada. My hunting will be done in winter. Our temperatures usually do not drop below - 20 Celsius. I will be hunting solo and will be in remote wilderness areas so I feel that it would be prudent for me to carry gear that will keep me alive in the event of an accident such as broken leg or I need to spend the night in the woods to find the hounds. I currently have a kifaru spike camp, that is an excellent pack;however, too small to carry my gear. I also have a Wiggys ultima Thule bag, but it is too large and heavy for me to drag around for miles in pursuit of hounds. I do not have any shelter systems yet. I am 6'3" and weigh around 225, I measured my shoulder circumference at 56 inches with a t-shirt on, so getting a bag that fits comfortably may be an issue as well. I would appreciate help with a pack, bag and shelter recommendation. Was thinking about MR Bighorn...not sure if that is a large enough size to carry the gear I need. Thanks everyone in advance.

GB1

S
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
S
Lots of options will surely work. For shelter, a heated tipi would be the ticket in extended winter conditions. Check out the seek outside stuff (KevinT on here).

If you are more concerned with space than carrying a lot of weight, there are a lot of packs that will do the job comfortably. The Bighorn is definitely a good option for shorter trips. Capacity depends on how long you plan to be out, though winter gear always takes up a bit more space so I'd probably err larger on average for that season.