Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
H
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
H
My go-to hunting rifle broke today. The lug with the extractor broke off in the receiver after firing a shot. I'm pretty certain the breakage caused me to miss a very easy shot to boot!

Anyhow, I'm sick about it. I've been running this rifle for around 9-10 yrs. It has been flawless. I've never hot-rodded it, and after 800 or so rounds it still shoots under 1 moa consistently. I'll never fire it again, regardless of what Browning will do for me. This was too close to a catastrophic failure. My wife fired the round before, tipping over an antelope at 416yds. It scares the hell out of me to think of the results had the bolt broken loose entirely.

Details: 300 rum. 200 Accubond over 90 gn of RL-25, Fed 215 primer. For the record, I've been running this round exclusively for years (since the AB 200 came out, used the 180 before then). I've been getting 5+ shots per brass, never had the primer pockets get loose or had the bolt stick. On the brass in question, the primer is not flattened more than is usual for Federals, but there is a slight mark at the ejector pin. Also the head is not flat--the portion where the lug broke is bent very slightly, presumably where the lug gave. I think that part of the bolt face breaking away may have given the higher pressure mark on the ejector pin hole. I loaded the rounds in question a few days ago, weighing every charge. I am absolutely confident that I did not overload this particular round, or run of bullets (416 yd shots don't happen by accident).

What should I tell Browning? They said to send the rifle, and would say nothing more. I don't blame them for this initial response, but I'm worried about what will come. Will they blame it on handloads? Will they try to mail me a new bolt? I won't fire this rifle (which I absolutely love) ever again, nor do I want to sell it to someone else. I have no confidence in this action for heavy cartridges.