Hop To
Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
R
Rodfac Offline OP
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
R
I'm in the process of acquiring a .300 Savage...a cartridge I have no experience with. Anyone have any pet loads for a Savage 99 in that estimable caliber?

I cast my own bullets for both rifle and pistol so if you've got some suggestions along those lines, I appreciate them as well. Looks to me like the short neck on the .300 would make cast bullets problematical.

Too, I've several .30-30's by two other manufacturers and have found that Remington's 170 gr Core-lok works well, in them as well as .308, .30-40 Krag and .30-06. How 'bout the .300 Savage?

I've got 50 years of hand loading experience behind me...so let me have it.

Best Regards, Rodfac

Thank a vet for your freedoms to worship, assemble, speech and vote. Preachers, politicians, journalists, and other elected officials had nothing to do with it.
GB1

Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
One of our members, 260Remguy, praises the performance of 170gr RN bullets in the 300 Savage. Never tried them myself, but would think they would work just fine.

I like Partitions, and 150gr Partitions would be my first choice if my 99 liked them. It doesn't, but it does love the 180gr Partitions and H4895. Not a fast bullet, but to say that it works is an understatement.

Just think of the 300 Savage as a mid level loading of the 308 Win, and choose your bullets from there.

And share what you find, please. Always looking for more things to play with. grin

And congrats on getting a Savage!!! Just be aware that one is never enough...

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
It's hard to beat a regular cup and core 165 grain bullet with 42.0 grains of RL15 if it groups in your rifle. That's been a good load for me in 6 different rifles.

"A free people (claim) their rights as derived from the laws of nature, and not as the gift of their chief magistrate."
--Thomas Jefferson, Rights of British America, 1774
Campfire Tracker