Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
O
OldJoe Offline OP
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
O
Has any one here with a good knowledge of stock making ever studied why Model 99 stocks are so prone to wood problems behind the receiver tang?
Joe

GB1

Campfire Member
Campfire Member
I have very little knowledge of how stocks are made but logic tells me the recoil force is not being spread uniformly from the receiver into the stock. Any mismatch between the receiver and stock could cause point loading resulting in a crack. Also, depending on how the two are attached such a screw could cause the same result.

I wonder if later models have the same issue once Savage went to CNC and therfore uniformity could be better controlled?

Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
I am certain you will get answers to this query from the vast knowledge base represented in this forum. The recoil pounding the top of the stock rather than the bottom is the theory I've heard. I would think the lay of the wood grain would either contribute or resist this tendency as well. Some pictures with an explanation would be awesome. If we had the answer definitively, we could all properly fit our guns this winter...

LOL
O
OldJoe Offline OP
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
O
I just don't understand this. The 99 receiver has very firm bearing against the front of the stock on both sides. That should hold the recoil. I've never seen one that looks like the stock was set back where it's abutted by the receiver. Why do they crack, chip, etc behind the tang? No recoil should be pounding the wood back there no matter how the wood grain is layed out.
Joe

G
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
G
My theory is that a lot of cracks occur because of over tightening the draw bolt. Think of the upper and lower tang being two wedges being drawn back into the wrist. Add recoil forces to that and bingo!

"You can lead a man to logic, but you cannot make him think." Joe Harz