Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
B
Buddha Offline OP
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
B
I ordered small base dies and one that would crimp. My gunsmith suggested crimping. I ordered a RCBS die. Can someone walk thru that process for me to educate myself before starting and making a mess. I load alot but have never crimped anything. My experience is with bolt actions. Thanks!!

GB1

Campfire Regular
Online Content
Campfire Regular
I've been reloading for 40 years. Mostly bolt guns and some handgun. I got my AR about 2 years ago and I reload for it. I use standard size 223 dies and standard seaters. The biggest thing I look for is making sure the finished round fits the magazine. And I don't use bullets with cannalures. And I don't crimp. This has all worked quite well when loading for my run of the mill BushMaster.

Then you will know the truth and the truth will set you free.
John 8:32

A lie doesn't become truth; wrong doesn't become right; evil doesn't become good, just because it's accepted by the majority...Rick Warren

B
Buddha Offline OP
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
B
Sako...thanks! I love your Quote on your response page. How right the "Word" is.

R
Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
R
Don't use small base, it isn't needed and overworkst the brass on the 223 in an AR15.

Also as noted, I"ve never crimped a round of 223 competition ammo in my life... that was appx 14 years of shooting at +/- 20,000 rounds of reloads a year...

We can keep Larry Root and all his idiotic blabber and user names on here, but we can't get Ralph back..... Whiskey Tango Foxtrot, over....
J
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
J
Since I have more than one semi auto in 5.56 I use small base dies, but if you are only loading for one rifle they should not be necessary. I got tired of trying to keep brass seperated for individual rifles; it did not work too well for me.