Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
M
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
M
Hey guys just wondering what people are thinking as to the most versatile round in the ar platform for deer-pig /pest/fun. I figured the list looks like this for what I want to do. 7.62x39, 6.8spcI /II ?, 6.5 Grendel. I am leaning toward the 7.62 x 39. good deer-pig killing power at 0-200 yards, cheap ammo for fun. I would love to run the 30 remington ar , 300 blackout or the 7.62x45 wt. But for my first ar rifle I need to go with the 7.62 and get another upper in 5.56/223 for fun use. Also i see that the 5.56 is listed and 223 listed by some manufactures. Is there a difference in the two. I am thinking one is the military spec loading? can one fire the other or is that something i need to look at when buy an upper for this round? If i got a 5.56 upper can i shoot factory 223 rem. rounds in it? thanks in advance. I am sure all these questions have been answer before. bare with me I am new to this type of platform.

GB1

L
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
L
As mentioned frequently, the .223 and 5.56 are dimensionally the same cartridge. The 5.56 NATO round has a higher max pressure spec than the civvie .223 does. This means that you can shoot .223 in a 5.56 chamber, but the opposite is not advised.

The caliber debates also occur pretty frequently. For old Bambi and Porky, there are a number of .223 factory loads like the 60 Partition, various Barnes TSX loads, and others that will kill these types of animals. IMO the .223/5.56 is mostly a pest/fun cartridge but the versatility is huge with today's bullets and guns.

L
LBP Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
L
Mauser,

If the 223 is legal in your state give it a try with the correct bullets, I think you will be surprised...

Will Munny: It's a hell of a thing, killing a man. Take away all he's got and all he's ever gonna have.

The Schofield Kid: Yeah, well, I guess they had it coming.