-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
D
OP Offline
D
Hey folks, I�ve not reloaded a single round but I�m fascinated with the Idea of customizing loads for my rifles to make them more accurate. What sparked my interest was my Savage ML10 which shoots smokless. Basically its reloading at the range. Any way I need advice on what equipment I need. I have a RCBS Chargemaster/ scale. But what would you suggest as far as a list of must haves to get started. Maybe even extras if they would help a beginner keep from getting discouraged. I don�t have a press yet even. I�m not saying money isn�t a object, but I would like to avoid disappointment and rebuying new to replace cheep ineffective equipment. I�m shooting brass that has already been shot in my guns so should I get neck dies or resizing dies. The calibers I shoot are: 223 WSSM, 260 Rem., 7mm rem. Mag., 30 06, and 300 WSM. I�m not sure if this makes a difference when buying equipment , but there you have it any suggestions would be appreciated.

HR IC

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
RCBS,Foster,Redding are all good...Rockchucker starter kit will get to started...neck dies alone won't cut it,but if you wanted you could get by with FL sizer dies and partial FL size

My dog is a member of the "Turd Like Clan"

Covert Trail Cameras are JUNK

3 Time Dinkathon Champion #DinkGOAT

R
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
R
+1 on the rockchucker starter kit. You already have the chargemaster, so you are lightyears ahead of where i started.

S
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
S
If it were me, I'd make my first purchase a load book. There are several good ones. Hornady, Speer, Lyman comes to mind. And read the into to reloading section cover to cover. Twice.
And my first reloads would be simple standard full length resized reloads. Forget for the time being, any sort of special techniques like neck sizing or specialty dies.