Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Campfire Kahuna
OP Offline
Campfire Kahuna
Just posted this for entertainment value. Recently got a Savage 99 T with the Zeiss Zeiklein 2.25 in early Stith mounts. Seems the scope has elevation adjustment, while the mounts have windage. I am just learning about them. Seems very clear. Rifle is 1936, scope 1935-1940 from what I gather. Thought it might be of interest here.

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

LOL
GB1

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Now that's a neat vintage item. You'll find that old Zeiss will work just fine. Zeiss was top of the line then and is still in the top tier of rifle scopes. Is the mount marked Stith, as it doesn't use the usual Stith "rear tang holes, front dovetail" mounting method ?

Hey NSAQAM, Larry is very "IN", LOL
You also dishonor the 28th division by using the unit patch as an insult.
As for the liar, welcher Bricktop, his day is fast approaching.
Coward trolls won't accept PMs.
How's the phantom "campfire" coming ?
Campfire Kahuna
OP Offline
Campfire Kahuna
From what the guys on the Savage forum tell me, the mount is a Stith Streamlined, very early Stith. It is marked "M.L.Stith Pat Apld For". Most of the guys had never seen one. I plan to shoot the 300 T with the scope on Monday. It's clear enough to read lettering on things at a distance, really surprised me for 1936! I like the tapered post and crosshair reticle, seems great for fast target acquisition.

LOL
E
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
E
Just be aware that they aren't water proof and not as tough as the current scopes. E

Campfire Kahuna
OP Offline
Campfire Kahuna
Ok, thank you. I didn't know that. Any way to seal the turret with wax or something?

LOL
IC B2

E
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
E
Not that i'm aware of. E

G
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
G