Hop To
F
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
F
Hello All,
<br>
<br>I am an unrepentant fan of short action bolt actions rifles for their quick easy handling and
<br>portability due to their light weight, compact size, and short bolt throws. I have recently been
<br>searching for a capable big game cartridge that would fit in one of the Mini-Mausers. I had all but
<br>resigned to chambering one for one of the handgun silhouette cartridges as a woods companion
<br>rifle and staying with my 600 as the shortest that could handle a true game cartridge. The catalysts
<br>that provided the inspiration to take the next step and design the .416 The Americas Stalker, or
<br>.416 TAS, were the .416 Beartooth of Mr. Stanton and Mr. Gates and the Brockman .50
<br>Beowulf.
<br>
<br>First I want all to know that I am an absolute beginner at cartridge design with limited applicable
<br>background, thus "Wildcats 101 and Ballistics 201" advice and information are both needed and
<br>welcome. I am posting a similar message on several forums to gain information and opinions. A
<br>first time designer is also, I hope, allowed the indulgence of using his initials in his cartridge's
<br>name: TAS for Todd Anthony Servaes. The Americas Stalker was also chosen because it is very
<br>descriptive of what I believe the round can do. Because with a good stalk, which is aided by the
<br>handling qualities and portability of the rifles ( with some pressure cautions the 336ER and 94BB
<br>levers can also be chambered for it ) for which it was designed, the .416 TAS should prove very
<br>adequate to excellent for taking any game in the Americas.
<br>
<br>The .416 TAS is based on the .240 Weatherby case cut to 1.850" and necked for .416 bullets.
<br>This case length is the longest that allows a cartridge overall length with the Beartooth 375 grain
<br>bullet that can fit the magazines of some of the Mini-Mausers without modification. The .240