Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
R
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
R
I've asked several questions on this forum. And have been doing my research. I'm ready to buy a new rifle in 338 win mag. As a pistol and shotgun guy I have very little experience with different rifle manufacturers. I love my savage accu trigger in my model 212 shotgun. I like the Winchester model 70. And the Ruger m77. So how do you decide what hunting rifle you will buy? I like stainless and synthetic stocks. Please give me your point of view. Thanks. Ryan.

GB1

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
I prefer an accurate rifle. That's why I buy a Remington 700 when I need a new one.

"If what I say offends you, you should hear what I don't say."
T
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
T
Finish of the rifle and it's fit to me. If it doesn't fit and feel right, I'll never shoot it accurately in the field.

Stop by your favorite gun outfit and tell the guy at the counter that you want to try on everything on the rack. If he looks annoyed try the next dude unit you find one that is really interested in helping. Have him lay out as many as possible on the counter. Look closely at the fit and finish of metal and wood. You may have to look at several samples of each manufacturer. Try each in your hands and at your shoulder until you find one that comes to your shoulder easily and right to your eye. Have the counter guy take all away that don't pass.

After and hour or so you will start to focus in on one or two that may make your grade. Beware that some stores push some brands more than others. Don't be pushed if they try to sell one over the other, remind them that it's your choice. If they don't respect that, leave.

I used to work at a Sportsman's Warehouse for several years. I liked to lay out everything I had and let the guy try them and make his choice. I only offered opinions when asked.

Enjoy your search. It's what keeps the off season bearable.