-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
I'm new to the reloading game and was wondering what some of your opinions are on the Lee Hand Press? I don't have room for a conventional setup so... On a side note does anybody have one sitting around they don't use anymore?

Friendship is like peeing on yourself: everyone can see it, but only you get the warm feeling that it brings.
GB1

D
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
D
They definitely work. And they will help you develop superior upper body strength.

If you can figure out some way to have a table mounted press, you'll have a better time of it.

Be not weary in well doing.
I
Campfire Ranger
Online Happy
Campfire Ranger
I
For several years, all of my reloading was done on a Lee hand press. I was loading for an 06, 22-250, and an 06AI. I set the dies to size only the neck of the cartridge and made sure they were well lubed. The task did not seem overly difficult, but at the time I was hand stacking 100 lb sacks of sugar into rail cars. grin

The hand press will make ammo accurate enough to hunt any game. And my entire reloading set, including a couple pounds of powder fit in one shoe box and slid under the bed.

I would nor recommend any one spend a lifetime reloading on a hand press. It is much better to have a couple of bench mounted presses, and an entire room devoted to the hobby.

But the hand press will get you by until better accommodations can be made.

I would much rather scrimp a little on the press, and load with the Lee hand press, than I would scrimp on the scale. Get a good scale. At least as good as the RCBS 5-0-5. Preferably the 10-10

People who choose to brew up their own storms bitch loudest about the rain.
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
It's ok to start with, but you would be better off with a low cost table press by Lee. I used the hand press at the range before, and I used it when I didnt have my standard setups.

L