Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
F
OP Offline
F
Hi, this is my first time here and am hoping for a little advice. I have the Barnes VG 30 gr.HP, Speer TNT Green 30 gr.HP, Hornady 35 V-Max & NTX and the Nosler 35 gr. BT lead free. I have yet to load any of these but hopefully some of you have and will share your pet loads. I will be using a Savage 40 with a 1:14".

Thanks in advance,
FS1

Last edited by foxsquirrel1; 05/10/12.
GB1

L
Campfire Tracker
Online Content
Campfire Tracker
L
See if the rifle likes Lil Gun. That powder has resurrected the Hornet. You will run out of case capacity before you get pressure. Lil Gun is my go to for 40 grains and higher, but sometimes it doesn't perform up to spec with the lighter bullets. Not sure why. I did get stellar performance with the 35 grain VMax and Lil Gun. That is the most explosive bullet I have shot out of a Hornet. With Winchester brass and 12.5 grains of Lil Gun I was getting 3000 fps in a CZ 527.

If you don't get the velocity or accuracy with Lil Gun and the light bullets, try AA 1680.

Last edited by LeonHitchcox; 05/11/12.
M
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
M
I use quite q few of the Nosler 35 grain lead free and the Hornady VMaxs in .223. I push both with 12 grans of Blue Dot. In .223 I am seeing about 3200 IIRC. They do an excellent job on small varmints up to porcupines.

I don't own a Hornet, so I couldn't tell you what you can do with BD in it, but with the above load those bullets will produce eminently satisfying splatter in small varmints and will kill up to coyote size critters well inside 100.

I don't care for the Barnes VGs. I have tried a few weights in a couple calibers. They seem touchy to me about the speed they need to work well and they are harder to get accuracy out of.

C
Campfire Outfitter
Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
C
Welcome.