Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
WFR Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
I bought this 8' 4# Avid back in '03 and it has been my go-to rod since then.
Keep in mind that I am a novice at fly fishing.
Went to take it out of the case and the tip was broken off about 3 inches from the end.

Lifetime warranty so I will probably have to spend $20-$30 in shipping but here's the catch.
They no longer offer the Avid in this rod length and weight.
Since I mostly fish small streams in western NC and upstate SC I am thinking of replacing it with a 7'9" 3# 4-piece or a 8'6" 4# 4-piece.
http://www.stcroixrods.com/product/avid-fly#model-A793.4
Would really like to get some opinions before I ship this one off to be replaced.
Thanks in advance!
WFR

GB1

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
I can't speak of the rod you broke or the one your targeting... I haven't used either.

That said, I use a 3wt TFO, a Browning 5wt and a Lamiglass 7wt, for whatever chore comes along.
I REALLY like the 3wt rod.
It's feather light, casts really well and is a blast to play fish on.

I think the biggest difference in length will be found in being able to keep more line off the water on the smaller streams and mending chores.

Put a new tip on the old rod and see how it casts - might need to go up a line to make it lively..... good luck.

BT53
"Where do they find young men like this?" Reporter Savidge, Iraq
Elk, it's what's for dinner....

WFR Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
I am going to call them today to see what my options are.
I will not be putting a new tip on the rod as I have to send it back for warranty replacement.

I was looking on their Bargain Bin page and found a 8'4# Legend Ultra for $224.
http://www.stcroixrods.com/shop/cat...ra_Fly_Rod_8_4Weight_4_Piece-382-25.html
There's also a Legend Elite 7'9" 3# for $287.
http://www.stcroixrods.com/shop/cat...Fly_Rod_7_9_3_Weight_4_Piece-310-25.html