-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
OP Offline
Folks,
<br>
<br>Howdy to all from the Mountain State!
<br>
<br>I've got a question. A friend of mine recently got a .300 Savage rifle and he doesn't "speak Internet", so he asked if I could find something out for him. It has a rotary internal magazine, not the clip type.
<br>
<br>He reloads ammo and also has a .308 rifle. Is it possible to use .308 brass (which he has a lot of mil. surp) to make .300 Savage cases. That's the first part.
<br>
<br>If that will work, then will the M-80 ball FMJ bullet (or equivalent) work in the rotary magazine, or are there problems. (he has lots of the mil. surp .308 brass and bullets) That's how I know what he's talking about half the time anyway--I'm still learning about all of this.
<br>
<br>He shoots practice at metallic gongs and wants a cheap source of .300 Savage ammo. I looked on the Internet and tried to find a good source, but the commercial .300 Sav. ammo is at least $15-$16 (that's not including tax or shipping) a box, or more, and you can't get it at Wal-Mart either.
<br>
<br>If anyone can help, please post a reply. I'm also curious about whether this case reforming thing will work, as I'm just now learning to reload ammo from him. I've never seen a case reformed before, so this will help my experience.
<br>
<br>Thanks much!
<br>
<br>WV_Hillbilly

GB1

Campfire Member
Campfire Member
Sure he can do it. It's a boat load of work tho.
<br>He'll need a neck reamer/turner to get the necks the correct thickness. Since he's going to be cutting down military brass be very damn careful with the initial reloads. Remember the internal case capacity on these will NOT be the same as factory .300Sav brass so he needs to start out way low on powder charges and then work up as needed. The reduced capacity makes for a higher chamber pressure. Proceed with caution.