-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
I shipped my clothes home via the post office and when I opened the boxes I realized just how much bear fat soaked into my clothes while I was processing it.

After a couple washes, they still smell like a bear. I'm no expert, but I bet that's not a good smell to be carrying into elk and deer country.

Anybody had this problem and found a way to get it out?

�Some people hear their own inner voice with great clearness. And they live by what they hear. Such people become crazy�or they become legend."--Jim Harrison

www.doing-manly-things.com
GB1

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
It might arouse some interest and an approach. We watched two curious cow elk come to within 10 yds of a nice big chocolate bear as he was digging camas on an open ridge about 3 weeks ago. Eventually the bear was the one that moved off.

1Minute
L
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
L
This spring we watched two elk watching a grizzly sow and her two year old cub from 50 yards away. The elk were attentive but it didn't look like the grizzlies cared a whole lot.

I would try and find a very nonpolar solvent to dissolve the fat in. Something like hexanes or diethyl ether. I work in a chemistry research lab at college, so I don't really know if people elsewhere can obtain those solvents. But if you can I might give those a try. Another way may be to soak it in a very basic solution of water. This would turn the fat into soap since soap is just fatty acid salts. I would test that out on a piece of clothing that you didn't care a whole lot about, though.

Another option is to take it to a dry cleaners if you didn't want to bother yourself. They either use dichloromethane or carbon dioxide, both of which are nonpolar and might be able to dissolve the fat.

Nels
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger