-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
K
OP Offline
K
Hey everyone, new to the forum. I pulled my first elk tag this year for Unit 55 in Gunnison Colorado, it's a big unit so I'm just looking for any advice as far as gear, places to camp, areas I might look for the elk, etc. I'm not looking for anyone's honey holes or anything, I'm just looking for some advice since the unit is so big and I'm new to elk hunting. I am dry excited about my first elk hunt, whether or not I take an animal I am determined to have a good time. I know it's hard work and I'm not thinking its going to be easy, but I don't quit, simple as that. Thanks in advance for any help or advice, seems like a knowledgable group of people on this forum. Hope to hear from you guys soon! I'm heading up this Thursday-Sunday to scout the area, any tips on preseason scouting would be greatly appreciated as well. Thanks guys!

Hunting isn't about the killing, hunting is about the primal urge to pursue and provide food for yourself, your friends, your family and your community. Hunting should be respected and held with great care.
GB1

M
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
M
You may be up to your ears in snow that time of year. It might be hard to find a cow. They're the first to leave the snow.

Weather is going to determine how well you do. Scouting now isn't going to tell you much for 4th season.

Last edited by Mauser_Hunter; 07/23/12.

Money can't buy you happiness, but it can buy you a hunting license and that's pretty close.
K
OP Offline
K
That's kind of what my thought was, there are some pockets that, according to the DOW, hold elk throughout the year, even in the deep winter. We will see I guess. No one ever said it was going to be easy, I'm pretty sure it's going to be a huge pain but it's worth it to me, the harder you work for something the more rewarding it is when you succeed.