Print Thread
Hop To
H
Harvdog Offline OP
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
H
Snubbie's Thread on Bear meat reminded me tht I need to polish up on the rules pertaining to Colorado Bears before we go on our Elk/Bear Hunt.
I know the whole Bear must be thawed and checked in within 5 Days of the kill (unless that has changed) but, is there anything else im missing? Can anyone direct me to a link on any other Rules or Regs that I may need to be aware of.

I have no experience with Bears, Is the meat worth eating and What parts? Any good tips on meat handling and gutting to preserve the bears skin for a rug or mount. We are doing a backcountry hunt and it may be a day before we can get the packers in and have it in a cooler and then checked. Any good directional sites on Bear prep?

Yes im green and needing some tips. Thanks in advance!

GB1

C
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
C

"Camping places fix themselves in your mind as if you had spent long periods of your life in them.
You will remember a curve of your wagon track in the grass of the plain like the features of a friend."
Isak Dinesen

N
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
N
You cannot buy a bear license after the start of the season. It keeps folks from shooting one and then going in to town to buy a license.

NRA Life,Endowment,Patron or Benefactor since '72.
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Don't forget evidence of sex and you can't shoot a sow with cubs

"For some unfortunates, poisoned by city sidewalks ... the horn of the hunter never winds at all" Robert Ruark, The Horn of the Hunter

M
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
M
You can't go in a den after one either.

Just present the hide and head. No need for the whole bear.

Money can't buy you happiness, but it can buy you a hunting license and that's pretty close.
IC B2

H
Harvdog Offline OP
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
H
Bear tag is bought
Dont shoot a Sow with Cubs
No goin n a Den after one:)
Keep Evidence of sex attached