Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
D
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
D
I'm new to reloading and have seen several people mention compressed loads and have a few questions. Is a compressed load a load where the load manual lists the load density greater than 100%? Is a compressed load more prone to greater pressure spikes as the load is slightly increased? Could seating the bullet slightly deeper with a compressed load create a pressure spike? I guess I'll sum it up by asking should a new reloader who's trying not to blow up himself or rifle be a little more weary when dealing with compressed loads? Thanks for the help

GB1

Campfire Sage
Campfire Sage
The amount of powder filling a case does not compute to a dangerous load. Slow burn rates and small cases tend to = compressed loads.

When you first start loading it may seem odd to feel that "cruuunch" of a bullet in a compressed load, but it isn't dangerous when using the correct components.

Travis

Originally Posted by Geno67
Trump being classless,tasteless and clueless as usual.
Originally Posted by Judman
Sorry, trump is a no tax payin pile of shiit.
Originally Posted by KSMITH
My young wife decided to play the field and had moved several dudes into my house
R
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
R
About the only thing to watch out for on listed compressed loads is seating depth. Sometimes the bullets will creep if compressed hard and other times the die will damage the bullet and cause inconsistent depths. I prefer to use a powder that fills the case, but doesn't compress myself. That said, I've had some rigs that really like certain loads that were compressed.

S
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
S
Is a compressed load more prone to greater pressure spikes as the load is slightly increased?

No.

Could seating the bullet slightly deeper with a compressed load create a pressure spike?

No.

Compressing powder does not in itself increase pressure.