Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
I
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
I
A short shot string is supposedly good because more of the pellets will hit the flying bird. But what if your lead is not precise enough? Wouldn't an elongated shot string be better in this case because you'd have a greater chance of hitting the bird with the front or rear of the shot string?

Don't blame me. I voted for Trump.

Democrats would burn this country to the ground, if they could rule over the ashes.
GB1

M
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
M
There are many shooters better qualified to answer this than I but I will make a stab at it. A shorter shot string does put more pellets on the target provided your lead is correct and the gun is centering it's pattern close to where you are looking.

A long shot string would only help if you are consistently shooting in front of the target. Most shooters are not. I've been shooting trap, skeet and sporting clays for 35 years as well as shooting birds. I would say the vast majority of birds or targets are missed because shooters either don't lead enough or stop their swing and shoot behind the target. In this case a long shot string isn't going to help and for that matter a short shot string isn't either. A short shot string will help when the lead is correct and the target is centered in the pattern. More pellets on target means higher scores and more cleanly killed birds. One of the best upland bird loads has always been the Winchester AA 7 1/2's trap loads. Usually very uniform patterns, short shot string and harder shot than found in most field loads.

I hope some real shotgun experts weigh in on this. These are just observations from a lot of years with a shotgun in the field and on the range. My sporting clays scores would certainly disqualify me from ever claiming "expert" status when it comes to shotguns. blush

Mart

Chronographs, bore scopes and pattern boards have broke a lot of hearts.
D
Campfire Outfitter