Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
E
erb Offline OP
OP Offline
E
Don't be too hard me for such a basic question. I have a S&W 66 and want to know if you leave the chamber open under the hammer or load all six?

GB1

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
All 6

Ignorance is not confined to uneducated people.

WHO IS
JOHN GALT?

LIBERTY!

F
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
F
Load all six. The S&W 66 is designed to be carried with all chambers loaded.

~Molɔ̀ːn Labé Skýla~
E
erb Offline OP
OP Offline
E
Thanks you guys!!

V
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
V
Erb: I carried a S&W Model 66 4" for several years while I was an active police officer.
Most of that time I carried it in a level "2" type safety holster.
I wrestled with a lot of thugs while so strapped and never had a problem - during that time ALL cyclinders had ammunition in them.
For a time after I retired I also carried a Model 66" with a 2" barrel concealed while doing robbery suppression and body guard work.
Again all six cylinders had ammo in them.
I would rate the Model 66 as "very safe" to carry with a full compliment of ammunition - in a good holster.
I have a pair of Model 66's with 6" barrels and I carry one of them from time to time on archery Elk Hunts as Bear protection.
I usually have one of them in an under armpit holster type rig.
Again no problems to date.
Hold into the wind
VarmintGuy

IC B2

T
Campfire Sage
Campfire Sage
T
Originally Posted by erb
Don't be too hard me for such a basic question. I have a S&W 66 and want to know if you leave the chamber open under the hammer or load all six?