-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
Well, I'm new to fishing for smallmouth, and haven't been fly fishing for quite a while, and always fished surface flies. So I took the old mask and snorkel and headed on down to the river with the fly rod.
<br>
<br>I spent about an hour snorkeling and fish watching, then I got out of the water, armed with knowledge on where the fis were, and started fishing without any success. So I put the two activities together. I don't think I broke any game laws, but sometimes ignorance is bliss [Linked Image]
<br>
<br>It was like watching the underwater video on the bass fishing shows, but it was live and in color. What an education. It's amazing how soft some of the hits are. I can see them mouthing the woolly bugger but can't feel a thing.
<br>
<br>So, I took off the mask and snorkel, and eventually came up with a retrieve that seemed to incite the fish into hitting harder as I was able to catch and release about 10 in about half an hour, before they wised up. Unfortunately, I was only catching the "average" sized fish, about 10 inchers. None of the few bigguns cooperated. I suppose that will take a few more trips.
<br>
<br>It was also amazing to see that a lot of the "fishy" looking water didn't hold any fish at all. A spot just a few hundred yards from the hole with all the fish was absolutely empty. There was one spot that held just a single fish, but it was a trophy.
<br>
<br>Regards,
<br>Scott

GB1

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker