TWR Offline
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
T
Gotcha and I couldn't agree more.

GB1

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
I put a DPMS varmint barreled upper on my Stag lower a couple years ago, and it gets sub-moa, even 1/2 MOA frequently, and I've had no issues with it. I have only have the one AR, so I know nothing.

�That rifle on the wall of the labourer's cottage or working class flat is the symbol of democracy. It is our job to see that it stays there.� George Orwell
T
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
T
My guess is your DPMS varmint barrel is a Kalispell/Montana Barrel unit, don't expect the same with rack stuff. Remember DPMS already had spotty QC BEFORE they were bought by Freedom Grope.

Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
Originally Posted by Billu
I am new to the AR scene. I have been looking into getting an AR15 type rifle and saw an NRA show a week ago where they toured the DPMS plant. Looked at the web site. Narrowed it down to either the Moe Warrior or AP4 carbine.What do you guys recommend ? What are your opinions on DPMS rifles? Are there others you would suggest I look at?
I've got two DPMS' that I have had no issues with. I'm not nearly the expert that some here are. I have owned probably a dozen AR's dating back to my first in 1983.

That said, I think at $1100 you are probably in the Colt range if you look around awhile and are careful. You might have to add a bit for tax and such, but I think you can buy a new one for close to that. That's the way I'd go rather than DPMS.

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
buy a DPMS for under 600 bucks, shoot it awhile and you'll learn a lot. Once your sure what you really want, you can sell the DPMS and buy or build.

http://grabagun.com/dpms-panther-oracle-223-16-30rd.html

IC B2

T
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
T
Originally Posted by 700LH
buy a DPMS for under 600 bucks, shoot it awhile and you'll learn a lot. Once your sure what you really want, you can sell the DPMS and buy or build.