Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
P
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
P
A guy has one for sale locally for $250 and I'm thinking about it.
What is the major differences between the models, and is one more sought after than the others?

Thanks,

P

Obey lawful commands. Video interactions. Hold bad cops accountable. Problem solved.

~Molɔ̀ːn Labé Skýla~

Member #547
Join date 3/09/2001
HR IC

K
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
K
You first.

P
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
P
[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

All I got.

Obey lawful commands. Video interactions. Hold bad cops accountable. Problem solved.

~Molɔ̀ːn Labé Skýla~

Member #547
Join date 3/09/2001
T
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
T
I see folks are not being very helpful to you on this subject, both here and in the Classifieds. Here's my take on this, based upon an abiding love affair with the Mauser action and especial the '96. Note, I am not an expert but I have several of these rifles and owned a few more.

First thing to realize is this isn't a '98 and hence you have a much smaller choice of aftermarket parts for it.

Secondly, decide what it is you want to do with the rifle; the 6.5x55 will kill just about anything on the planet with proper placement of the right bullet at reasonable distances but is very well suited to most every game animal in the US. Do you want to turn it into a full custom rifle or a good hunting rifle?

If the former, well, have at it! If the latter, here's what I have found in researching the subject at length.

1. Stocks are available from several vendors and most are priced inexpensively but you get what you pay for in terms of quality with the synthetics. If you want a cheap new stock with no frills, Midway has some for less than $100. For wood, Boyds direct or from Midway or Wood Plus at Brownells can help you.