Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Originally Posted by tzone

JFC, he said "no alaska, no Schwab , not on a dare". He doesn't like him. Why does he need to tell you why? He doesn't.

Hey, I simply tried to share a few outfitters. I know Max, he's a great outfitter, and the other, Nate Turner is a personal friend. He runs a great operation and has a stellar rep.

At this point I don't think he would be a good fit with the OP. Nate is a go-getter.

As for the stuff here, the topic became me and 'hearsay' etc. and all bets were off.

GB1

Kenneth Online Content OP
Campfire Outfitter
OP Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
broom, have you hunted with Max?

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Nope, I have not.
I killed all of my sheep diy as a resident. My son is still in Fairbanks and as a resident, I hunt with him now (next of kin regs).
Bottom line...
I know fellas who have hunted with Max, and I've met the guy. He was a sponsor at the Alaska forum and as the "hunting" moderator there I read a lot about his operation, yours is the first bad comment I've seen.
He's an odd fella, more knowledge about sheep than most of us will ever dream of, quiet at times, but the consensus is the guy produces results on the sheep mountain.

If you don't mesh with the guy, no worries. We all have different standards.
I mentioned a non-res I bumped into in Anchorage with a great ram taken with Schwab last August, and well, you assumed that was the only thing I knew about the guy.

Anyone as passionate about sheep and sheep hunting as I was while living there gets to know 'who, what and where' works, resident or otherwise.

Moving on, good luck with your choice...

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
One last thing...

I don't personally know Kaboku68 (Thomas, I think) here, but he is probably the most knowledgeable sheep guy I've ever read from--mostly at the Alaska forum.