Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 5 of 18 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 17 18
M
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
M
That is a pretty harsh assessment of a man who made his living with a rifle.

My view of a good rifleman is a person that remains calm while shooting a buffalo or an elephant at 25 feet and can do it quickly and efficiently. Don is one of those guys.

IMO that takes more practice and nerve than shooting an animal at 800 yards.

I have shot more than most at 600, 800, 900, and 1000 yards so I do have a good understanding what is required.

If you want to hunt long range have at it, it is none of my business, but do insult a man you do not know, much less understand what is required to be a good rifleman in his part of the world.

GB1

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Originally Posted by Mike70560

Please quote accurately my "assessment" of Don Heath.

ps. I make my living with a rifle. wink

John Burns

I have all the sources.
They can't stop the signal.

D
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
D
Completely different mindsets on completely different continents. Problem is that this article was in a US publication (I am assuming here) and maybe it was geared towards American hunter traveling to Africa but many of us, based on the posted quote, are feeling that it is directed to any hunter, anywhere. If that is what he intended then for all the good things he is, he is shortsighted. If it was not intended as that well then we are getting worked up over nothing.

NRA Benefactor Member

Those who live by the sword get shot by those who don't.

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Originally Posted by JohnBurns

Not if he can not reliably make a 400yd shot in good conditions.

Just the way it is. shocked

Long rangers sure are a sensitive lot! whistle

John, your line I quoted above confuses the ability to make a shot with the judgment and ethics of making it. The writer was clearly referring to the latter.