Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
G
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
G
1911's are wonderful to shoot. I'm a bit of a novice (at least compared to many here) with the platform and have only played with what most would call low-to-mid level examples. I'm looking into getting one to carry and need some help because:

HOLY HELL are there a lot of choices, prices and opinions on 1911's!! Frankly it's bewildering and even people very familiar with the platform can have some pretty strongly held conflicting opinions.

First, I'm not afraid to drop some money on this if I'm, no BS, getting what I pay for. (One of the examples I'm looking at is an Brown SFIII) Second, this is going to actually be carried. Oh sure I'm going to spend time at the range and everybody loves little tiny groups. There's also the whole fuzzy feeling of just having something "nice". That's all great but at the end of the day I'm looking for not spending more than I can justify for something that's going to spend time riding around in a holster. (probably a MS Summer Classic but input on that is also welcome)

There seems to be a number of price points. In the roughly 1K area you've got various Colts, Sigs, S&W, etc. All have their fans and detractors. Next up are the 1500-2000 class that Dan Wesson seems to own. (I've been looking hard at a V-Bob) Some of the Les Baers can be had here, especially used. The Premier II and UTC seem well thought of and the Stinger is really intriguing but I've read where some really don't care for what they describe as a "cut frame". Then obviously there's the Wilson's/Ed Brown's/Nighthawks of the world. Again, if I could be convinced it was genuinely worth dropping $2500 then that's on the table...it just sure seems like a lot.

Anyway, all input appreciated.

If there's one thing I've become certain of it's that there's too much certainty in the world.
GB1

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger