Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
S
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
S
I am having trouble getting the deer to come out during the daylight hours. I have been hunting a spot for 4 years now and the deer are always out an hour after dark or an hour before light. It is very aggrevating. My food plots look like a circus marched through them. There are always tons of prints on the trails and roads. Is there a way to get the deer to come out during legal shooting hours? The tract I hunt is only 11 acres surrounded by other hunting properties.

GB1

S
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
S
Is there any water on the place your at?

Spot

S
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
S
Oddly enough, there is a creek that is a border of my property. I have seen only a few tracks over the last 4 years though. Most of the tracks have been at least 35 yards away from the water.

JOG Offline
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Spot,

If that was happening in Minnesota I'd say your property is missing bedding or transition cover. You need to give the deer a reason to stay there during the daylight hours. Plant or create some bedding cover.

Edited to add: Sorry, Spot - I directed my post to the wrong guy. Shoulda typed "Spraynbuckshot".

Last edited by JOG; 07/29/06.

Forgive me my nonsense, as I also forgive the nonsense of those that think they talk sense.
Robert Frost
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular