Home
I will start by stating that I am a novice when it comes to handguns so feel free to 'dumb' things down for me.

Sure I own a few handguns but I rarely carry them and am in the learning stages of CC.

My biggest fear when carrying would be shooting my dick off, so with that said help me out....lol

I recently purchased a HK VP9 and so far really like it. But it is rather large and I would like to get a smaller version. They make a compact model, the VP9SK but in my research I see they also make a hammer style version of similar size in the P30SK. This is where it got confusing for me. HK has several versions/variants of the P30.

Am right in assuming that the P30SK V3 with manual safety and de-cocker would be the best variant to avoid shooting my junk?

Do I want or need the safety?

https://hk-usa.com/hk-models/p30sk/

I'm joking around but serious question!
Dude, seriously, Glock perfection! Nobody ever shoots themselves with those!
Sammo,

By my own logic, if you want to carry appendix get the hammer for the added security. Arteries and junk need not be shot. You're really the problem not so much the gun. If you're on the hip or towards the rear I'm not sure it matters.

Fcck any safeties. They'll get you killed!

As far as the HK goes the the VP pistols are striker fired and have nice triggers for one.
The P30 is a different animal. Most get the DA/SA or the V1 LEM style trigger (which is an acquired taste).
IMHO HK triggers pretty much suck.

If it were me, I'd get a Cajunized CZ P01/PCR (light) or Sig Sauer 226 (Heavy) for AIWB or Sig Sauer P365XL for the hip. All of these pistols have great support and are easy to carry for the specific application you decide to go with.
I am researching!

Thank you for the recommendations.

The CZ looks slick.
I agree with 4winds take on things. Makes a lot of sense and tracks with my experience. I would also suggest the Shield, with or without the safety. Very unglamorous and I love it.