Hop To
Page 3 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
A
Campfire 'Bwana
Online Content
Campfire 'Bwana
A
I'm a Vet, but I've never used the VA.

You didn't use logic or reason to get into this opinion, I cannot use logic or reason to get you out of it.

You cannot over estimate the unimportance of nearly everything. John Maxwell
GB1

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Might consider AF Metrology, that is Not meterology. AF career in it and multiple areas to work when you get out. I was fortunate to get into it and enjoyed almost everything. Get the field in which you are enlisting in writing. If he enlists tell him to get in the habit of keeping copies of personell actions and in particular everthing for which he gets medical treatment. Having said all that a commision is far better than an enlistment, primarily from a financial aspect. I turned down a commision twice and never regretted it until my first retirement check. The AF was good to me and my family.

I'm not cheap, I'm frugal.
[Linked Image]
D
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
D
Signed up for delayed enlistment on Nov 24,1976 to get the Vietnam era GI Bill. Came from a family of 12, so college wasn’t in the cards.

Was enlisted for nearly 10 years and an officer (USAF Civil engineer) for almost 32 years now.

Almost 16 years active, 9 inactive reserve, 10 in the USAF reserve and the rest in the Air Guard.

I’ve held three commands, one while deployed to northern Iraq.

Was selected for another promotion, but I’m an old man, and it’s time to let the young guys and gals have their time.

I relinquish command and retire on August 11, 2018. What’s that? 18 more days. I’m looking forward to it.

Wouldn’t trade a day.

It’s been a blessing, and the only people on the face of the earth I am even remotely jealous of are kids like your son, who are just starting their journey.

It’ll be what he makes out of it. Let it be an adventure.

“Live free or die. Death is not the worst of evils.” - General John Stark.
Campfire Outfitter