Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
T
tcp Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
T
The topic of double action revolver vs. autoloading pistol for wilderness carry/defense has been beaten to death. Some, however, choose to carry large bore single action revolvers and while I appreciate the style and quality of a Bowen, Freedom Arms or custom Blackhawk, it seems that while better than no handgun, for meaningful use, a single action revolver would be in third place by a long way.

I am no expert. What advantage other than aesthetics and possibly lighter weight would a single action revolver hold?

Thank you.

Bear in mind this question comes from someone who has spent the last couple years debating selling their (pristine) 629-4 mountain gun and buying a Glock 20 solely because the thought of getting the 629 full of river silt or sand diminishes its value whereas the I could mistreat the Glock without any remorse.

Last edited by tcp; 12/04/20.

If you can't be a good example, may you at least serve as a dreadful warning
GB1

J
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
J
i like ruger single action revolvers for their robust build and ammo convertability: 45acp/lc, 357/38/9mm, 327/32, 22wmr/lr, which is especially useful during ammo droughts to both find ammo and then expend prudently in well aimed shots.

U
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
U
Not a direct answer but I'm a member of a Michigan based gun forum and this debate always comes up. Many are on the "powerful DA revolver" side. Yet, when I ask them how often they practice fast, DA fire, all I get is silence. For some people, who don't actually go where there are brown bears, it's all about "image". If you go where there're big bruins, it's whatever you feel most comfortable with that you can hit.
Me, I carry bear spray and a G43 in the UP.

Last edited by UPhiker; 12/04/20.
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter