Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
Not really certain about how I should phrase the question. I’d like to get an idea where other hunters see the delineation in effectiveness between hunting cartridge & caliber.

As an example I have lots of experience with a .270 Winchester and really can’t see much if any difference in field performance between 257 Roberts, 25-06, 280, 270, 308, 7mm RM, 6.5 Creedmoor etc. However, once I step into a 30-06 or 300 mag of some flavor there seems to me a larger on-game effect. Same goes for my 340 Wby - it just seems like a big step up from a 300 Mag even tho it’s not really. I don’t own any larger bores so my experience is limited.

The things we think about while sitting in a tree stand…

GB1

E
EdM Offline
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
E
Bull elk with a 375 H&H (260 gr Partition) and another with a 270 Win (140 gr TTSX), both dropped at the shot.

Conduct is the best proof of character.
M
Campfire Outfitter
Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
M

Small bull elk walking, shot at under 50 yards, broadside behind the shoulder with my .375 AI using 270 grain bullet @2900+ fps, the bull showed zero response to the shot.....I couldn’t believe that I had missed. I didn’t.....he collapsed after going about 10 yards! I’ve had others that couldn’t fall fast enough.....you just never know how the animal will react to the shot! memtb

You should not use a rifle that will kill an animal when everything goes right; you should use one that will do the job when everything goes wrong." -Bob Hagel

“I’d like to be a good rifleman…..but, I prefer to be a good hunter”! memtb 2024
A
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
A

When it comes to critters like deer and elk, it's all in the bullet. Very little has to do with the choice of cartridge.

Casey

Not being married to any particular political party sure makes it a lot easier to look at the world more objectively...