Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 5 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
C
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
C
My experience with Weatherby Mark v rifles began in the early 80's, I worked as an Elk guide for a decade.
Dude hunters showed up with these things, they seemed to shoot terribly, one guy told me his rifle was factory zeroed.
The rifles were probably fine but performed poorly due to some amount of ignorance about them.
Got just in my craw and is still there. Funny how that works

GB1

L
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
L
I never could get into the Weatherby game. Belts are a negative, not a positive. Half of them are twisted wrong. The double radius shoulder seems to work slightly worse than an improve 40deg shoulder. All their guns are long barrel, long or magnum action behemoths that I can't see a reason to carry.

With the advent of the RUM and Nosler cases for ultra-magnums, I have a hard time imagining I'd ever buy a Weatherby.

Last edited by Llama_Bob; 11/30/21.
D
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
D
Originally Posted by Llama_Bob
I never could get into the Weatherby game. Belts are a negative, not a positive. Half of them are twisted wrong. The double radius shoulder seems to work slightly worse than an improve 40deg shoulder. All their guns are long barrel, long or magnum action behemoths that I can't see a reason to carry.

With the advent of the RUM and Nosler cases for ultra-magnums, I have a hard time imagining I'd ever buy a Weatherby.

Then, which of those terrible Wby rounds is your fav?

DF

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Originally Posted by Dirtfarmer
[quote=keith]I

And, am curious how zero free bore adds extra barrel life.

I'd appreciate your thoughts and experience on this.

DF